Back to All Board of Directors

Ravi Seethapathy, University of Toronto


After a 35+ year career in Electric Utilities and Power Systems area, Ravi Seethapathy is now an Adjunct Professor at the University of Toronto in its Energy Systems Group; an Advisor to Utilities/Industry; and sits on the Boards of Smart Grid Canada, India Smart Grid Forum, Toronto Atmospheric Fund andBiosirus Inc. He is an invited speaker in the international Smart Grid area having co-authored over 50 technical papers. Retired in 2014 after 31 year career in a large Utility in Canada where he managed leading portfolios in R&D, Innovation, Smart Grid Projects, Energy Storage, Renewable Energy Integration, and Asset Management. His Past Corporate Directorships include Ryerson University, TV Ontario, Scarborough Hospital, Engineers without Borders (Chair), Canadian Club of Toronto (President), Indo-Canada Chamber of Commerce (President). His current technical involvement includes CIGRE, IEA, IEC, etc. He mentors several technology companies in NA and Asia primarily in power systems.

He has received numerous honours and citations including Queen Elizabeth Diamond Jubilee Medal (2012), Fellow Canadian Academy of Engineering (2012), Hydro One President's Award (2008), Honour Roll of the Shastri Institute (2008), Honorary Fellow, Centennial College (2005), Indo-Canada Chamber of Commerce (1996) to name a few. His education includes a B. Tech (Hons) in Electrical Power from IIT, Kharagpur, India; an M. Eng. in Electrical Power from the University of Toronto; and an MBA from the Schulich School of Business, York University. He together with his family has endowed an IEEE Award in "Rural Electrification Excellence".


Alex Bettencourt  SmartGrid Canada

Alex Bettencourt
SmartGrid Canada

Chuck Filewych  SmartGrid interConnect

Chuck Filewych
SmartGrid interConnect

Guiliana Rossini  Hydro One

Guiliana Rossini
Hydro One

David Collie  Electrical Safety Authority

David Collie
Electrical Safety Authority

Vipin Kakar  General Electric

Vipin Kakar
General Electric

Neetika Sathe  PowerStream Inc.

Neetika Sathe
PowerStream Inc.

Eric Deschenes  Schneider Electric

Eric Deschenes
Schneider Electric

Jean Lessard  Hydro-Québec

Jean Lessard

Ravi Seethapathy  University of Toronto

Ravi Seethapathy
University of Toronto

Andre van Dijk   EMMAX Power Corporation

Andre van Dijk
EMMAX Power Corporation

Kip Morison  BC Hydro

Kip Morison
BC Hydro